Why you need to find your Target Audience

Simple Steps that will help you do it effectively

Shailaja V
Plus Marketing
2 min readNov 21, 2020

--

Photo by Joel Reyer on Unsplash

Every creator has an audience: the ones who enjoy what you do and who will follow what you create.

The challenge for most creators though is finding the right audience for their creations.

Not everyone who follows you on a specific platform is necessarily the best audience for your range of offerings.

Let me share an example. I’m a trained Indian classical and bhajan singer. Once a week, I try and record a new bhajan/song on video and share it with my interested audience.

But my current audience on Instagram is focused on growing their blogs, their social media channels and build better habits. They won’t be interested in my singing prowess. Or at least they’d be too nice to actually say that 😉

So, what could I do?

A) I could create two separate Instagram accounts: One for my blog coaching audience and the second for my music-loving audience. (I actually did this but found it challenging to maintain the second one in a sustainable manner.)

B) Start posting music-related content on the same channel but run the risk of turning off my original audience. People give me their precious time and attention and I want to value that.

C) Test my offerings on another platform. For example, Facebook. I did this briefly earlier this year and while I do have a very warm audience for the content, it was becoming a bit challenging to compress the singing videos and upload them to Facebook every single time. More time-consuming and less joy in the whole process.

D) Create a special, private group where I share only my music-related content and not necessarily on Instagram. This is what I do now. I created a special broadcast group on Whatsapp for my private group of contacts who were keen to listen to my bhajans. I now send them recordings once a week.

Understand who your audience is and where they go to consume your content.

For more tips, read my blog post on ‘10 Ways to Define and Find your Target Audience’

--

--

Shailaja V
Plus Marketing

Digital minimalist. Writer. Bibliophile. Vegan. Walking is my meditation. More about me: https://shailajav.com/about-shailaja-2/