Intern Spotlight #6: Emily Luong

Pluto Money
The Pluto Blog
Published in
2 min readMay 17, 2018

Emily is a freshman at UCLA and a writer of awesome articles for the Pluto Blog. Learn more about Emily and how she’s so #FinanciallyLit!✨

Name
Emily Luong

What’s your role at Pluto?
I’m one of Pluto’s content marketing interns! I write weekly articles for Pluto’s Medium blog on Personal Finance 101 for college students. 👩🏻‍🏫📖💯 #FinanciallySavvySundays

School / Major:
UCLA / Intended Communication Major & History Minor

What are you currently saving for?
First, I’m trying to build up my emergency fund… then I can start saving for new shoes 👡💕

What’s your go-to Pluto challenge?
Food & Drinks

Tell us a fun fact about yourself.
I’ve been a freelance makeup artist for four years! 👩🏻‍🎨‍💄

What activities are you involved with at school?
I’m an intern for SEA CLEAR (Southeast Asian Campus Learning Education and Retention) and Social Media Assistant for the Undergraduate Communication Association.

Why did you decide to intern at Pluto?
I noticed that most of my friends and myself came into college knowing nothing about money, how to manage it, and basic financial literacy terms. Though I had time during fall quarter to research topics like credit and budgeting on my own, not everyone does. So I jumped at the opportunity to help make financial literacy accessible to a younger audience!

What is the most challenging part of your job?
Meeting deadlines 😩📆

What’s your favorite part about working at Pluto?
Meeting my fellow interns and campus lead and working together to help grow Pluto!

Learn more about what Emily is working on here.
You can download and start saving with Pluto Money on the App Store! 🚀

--

--