Intern Spotlight #2: Rohan Kumar

Pluto Money
The Pluto Blog
Published in
2 min readJul 14, 2017

Rohan is the newest addition to Pluto’s creative team. Read his story! 👱🏽

Rohan at UCLA during Spring Quarter (May 2017)

“Pluto’s engaging message really grabbed my attention, and I crash landed on their simple world of goals and challenges to make saving easier!”

Name
Rohan “Ro” Kumar

What’s your role at Pluto?
I am a Creative Strategy and Design intern at Pluto. I love everything that has to do with creative strategy and brand identity!

School / Major
UCLA / Cognitive Science

What are you currently saving for?
A new camera lens 📸

What’s your go-to Pluto challenge?
Spend less on Coffee (It’s challenging in LA… ☕️☕️☕️)

Tell us a fun fact about yourself.
I put a paper plate award from my freshman year in high school on my application to UCLA… 🙊

What activities are you involved with at school?
I am highly involved in UCLA’s entrepreneurial culture. I am a creative lead for Bruin Entrepreneurs and Creative Labs, helping with marketing and brand direction. I also am Marketing Director for UCLA’s Delta Sigma Pi, the Coed-Business Fraternity. I try to make every Campus Events Commission event too (especially the concerts 🎤🎶)!

Why did you decide to intern at Pluto?
I’ve always wanted to learn what it takes to translate a vision into something impactful. I love startup culture and am honored to be working with such motivated people on Pluto’s team!
Also, as an out-of-state college student, I’ve always been concerned about my finances while trying to make the most out of my experiences. Pluto’s engaging message really grabbed my attention, and I crash landed on their simple world of goals and challenges to make saving easier!

What is the most challenging part of your job?
I’ve always focused more on the visual aspects of content I create, so learning how to craft the right messaging and pick the right words has been challenging. But it’s been very rewarding to me!

What’s your favorite part about working at Pluto?
Learning first-hand what it is like to be on a small team building an innovative product. I get to do way more than just design. The small team environment lets you learn more about all aspects of the business! 💯

Learn more about what Rohan is working on here.
You can download & request an invite to Pluto Beta on the App Store! 🚀

--

--