Product Management for Beginners

Amit Mutreja
PM Crash Course
Published in
2 min readSep 23, 2018

Product Management is a strange and mysterious role. That is what I felt when I started looking up about it on the Internet.

I didn’t get to hear a lot about it in my grad school but after the graduation, I met many people working in the tech companies who claimed to have expertise in product ‘development’ but didn’t even write a single line of code. They considered themselves to be responsible for the success/failure of the product. It made me curious. I would spend day and night browsing, reading articles and watching videos about mainly 2 things:

  1. What is product management and what does a product manager do?
  2. How does one get started? Any formal training available offline or online recognised by the industry?

But the result was — I was quite lost while learning and researching the realm of product management as there was not a structured approach to it. This series of articles is my effort to close the knowledge gap and help the people who are just starting out but finding it difficult or even who just want to know what all the fuss is about.

The content of the handbook is brief and touches all the important aspects so that one can quickly get the taste of it and is able to dig deeper in a structured manner.

  1. What is a Product and Product Management?
  2. Three Types of Product Managers
  3. Product Life Cycle and The Four Phases
  4. Product Development Process and The Seven Stages
  5. Project Management for Product Managers (…coming soon… follow the PM Crash Course for updates)

--

--

Amit Mutreja
PM Crash Course

BITS-Pilani Technocrat, Learner, Thinker, Dreamer, Traveler, Programmer. Other blog: http://viparitadisha.blogspot.com