Perfect PM Interview Practice — Ryan Hill, Founder of APMList

Stephen Cognetta
Exponent
Published in
6 min readOct 4, 2018

--

1. Tell us about your current PM career.

I’m currently an APM at Oath, which is the parent company for Yahoo. I work on various aspects of yahoo.com, and spend most of my time in the Sunnyvale office. Occasionally I work in SF, but it’s usually more effective to spend time with the larger team down in the south bay.

2. How did you break into product management?

I had a very interdisciplinary background before getting into product management. I’ve previously done work in marketing, UX design, software engineering, and consulting. I also made a startup with a few friends that had a small amount of traction (few thousand in revenue) and later ran a nonprofit that had roughly a half million a year in revenue. This mix helped me transition into my first PM internship. I had two PM internships before I landed my first full-time PM offer. This PM role was my first full-time job after graduating from undergrad at UC San Diego.

3. How many companies did you apply to? How many did you hear back from?

I applied to roughly 15 or so companies for product roles straight out of college. I heard back from roughly 10, and made through the final rounds at Facebook, LinkedIn, Yahoo, and a few smaller companies.

--

--