Day 3 | The Journey Begins

Ajit Mishra
Pens & Poems
2 min readNov 20, 2022

--

Kick-start of an adventure!

Dear Medium, modest beginnings are a blessing for people who have nothing to lose. The finish line is the point at which the voyage comes to a conclusion if you envision yourself retiring with a sense of success and fulfillment. My quest never began with any materialistic desires though. I always wanted to see beyond the mountains that had always encircled my village.

  • What is beyond those hills over there?
  • How far did the blue horizon stretch from those cliffs’ edge?
  • How long would it take for someone to climb the mountains and leave the village?
  • The river flows where? Can it carry me to the ocean and flow me down the hills?

Some questions always remain unanswered. Some answers rarely bedazzle you with curiosity. My unanswered curiosity would grow. It would always provoke me to look beyond the mountains.

“I grew up so fast in time, Like a climbing grapevine

In a quest to touch the skyline, Revolved round n round in

Swinging seasons of time. I grew up so fast in time!

Under the shades of sunshine, Conjured emotions to chase,

Shadowy Illusions in my dream, Wandered inside puzzles of a maze

To win and lose for desires of mine!”

I Grew Up Fast By Ajit Mishra

You see Medium, it is only as you get older and realize you’ve outgrown yourself. Your childhood is lost forever. It never comes back. Instead, it continues to thrill you in time & tide, bringing nostalgic emotions to the forefront and you wish, you were a child again! To tell you the truth, we were among the simplest of the habitats, which remained hidden and obscure behind the mountains.

While there was a traditional class system well established at the root of our society, back then, everyone knew their limits. The farmer knew when & how to plow the land. The potter knew how much water to be mixed with soil could make the perfect pot. The blacksmith was well aware of the edges of the knife and fire. And the brahmins knew which mantras to chant to make the Gods happy.

All this while, the son of a clerk was busy with his own adventures. His ventures were simple, innocent, and audacious. His voyage was prolonging beyond the horizon. To narrate them all, I’d need more time medium :).

See you on Day 4, till I am back with the chronicles of the son of a clerk.

If time permits do visit my lanes.

©Ajit Mishra, 2022. All Rights Reserved.

--

--

Ajit Mishra
Pens & Poems

Microsoft Product Leader, Techie, Spiritualist and A Creative Soul