Hello Medium, Should We Break Up and I Leave You?

As the calendar flips to 2024, I ponder: Continue penning my thoughts or bid adieu to our digital love affair.

Ajit Mishra
Pens & Poems
Published in
5 min readJan 2, 2024

--

DDear Medium, I find myself at a crossroads, celebrating our first anniversary with a cocktail of emotions. A year back, you swept me off my feet with your sleek design, clean user interface, and ad-free serenity. But as with any great love story, ours is not without its complexities and quirks.

The Old Writer is Dead. Welcome to the Platform of Content Traders

LOVE AT FIRST SIGHT

Ah, the early days!

It was love at first sight. For a battle-hardened blogger like myself, you were a new hope in a sea of ad-cluttered chaos. Your clean interface was like a breath of fresh air in a smog-filled city of pop-ups and banner ads.

I was enamored, smitten, utterly bewitched by your charms.
But then came the twist in our tale — the Yellow Crown of Greed & Fem.

THE YELLOW PLUS SIGN ON MY HEAD

Like a medieval monarch bestowing titles upon the loyal courtiers, you offered me a membership. A chance to be part of the elite, for a modest tribute of dollars, of course.

At first, I balked. My middle-class sensibilities recoiled at the thought of paying for what I once courted for free. But then, like a Bollywood heroine running towards the hero in slow motion, you whispered and offered a discount. And who could resist a good bargain? I was sold, credit card in hand, ready to join the ranks of the Yellow-Crowned.

The Yellow Crowned One
The Yellow Crowned — Not So Chosen One

THE MARKETPLACE AND CONTENT TRADERS

And so began my days as a scribe in the Writers’ Marketplace. I penned tales and musings, weaving words in the hope of catching the eyes of your legions of followers. But it wasn’t easy.

It felt like a Cabaret Dancer at times, performing under the bright lights, hoping for a few tossed coins from the audience. It was a dance of desperation and desire, a ballet of the blogger’s plight.

  • As the months passed, I realized I was but one voice in a chorus of thousands.
  • Each of us vying for a moment in the spotlight, each with a story to tell. The competition was fierce, the arena vast.
  • One thing that repeatedly shocked me was how some writers would boast about how they earned thousands of dollars by doing this and that. Again and again!
  • Some publishers would pick and choose your stories to ignore later.

“The realization dawned on me — Medium, you are not just a platform; you are a religion of writers, each preaching for their own fortune and glory through a few dollars more. You are a platform for content traders and marketers!”

From Demographic Dividends to Demographic Discrimination
From Demographic Dividends to Demographic Discrimination

THAT FEELING OF DISCRIMINATION

Ah, our initial rendezvous! Like a lovestruck poet, I was charmed by your pristine pages and unblemished beauty. But beneath this beguiling facade, I began to sense an unsettling truth.

You, dear Medium, like a capricious deity, dispense favors whimsically. Among the teeming throngs of writers, you elevate a chosen few, while the rest languish in obscurity. A writer’s fate seemingly hinges not just on talent or toil, but on your inscrutable whims. Like playing chess with a blindfold, I penned my pieces, never sure if they would bask in the sun of your spotlight or wither in the shadows of neglect.

But the plot thickens. I noticed, with dismay, a pattern in your affections.

  • Writers from far-off lands, particularly from the Indian Subcontinent, often find themselves on the fringes.
  • You are never going to start your Partner Program in some countries like India even if Quora (The Ex) happily pays by Stripe in India.
  • You promised publically in the middle of 2023, but that October never came!
  • Is this the invisible hand of digital imperialism, I wonder?
  • A subtle yet pervasive bias that skews the scales of visibility?
  • Is it truly meritocracy or a masquerade, where certain voices are muffled under the heavy drapes of algorithmic preference?

This realization struck a dissonant chord in our symphony. I began to question the fairness of the playing field.

TIME FOR THE SAD SONG?

As I stand at the dawn of a new year, contemplating our tumultuous affair, I am torn. On one hand lies the allure of your global stage, a chance to be heard, to make an impact. Yet, on the other hand, I grapple with the ethical quandary of supporting a platform that might not champion equality and diversity as it professes.

The climax of our tale is not a grandiose revelation but a mirror held up to these contradictions.

Dear Medium, you are a platform of immense potential, like a haven for storytellers. But for this love story to continue, for this dance to have meaning, we need more than just a stage. We need a fair and equitable theater, where every voice has a chance to echo with equal resonance.

And so, the curtain rises on another act of our drama. Will it be a tale of transformative change or a repetitive loop of the same old plot? Only time will tell. But one thing is certain — the pen, they say, is mightier than the sword. And my pen is not yet ready to rest.

A Heartfelt Request

Please know that behind these words is not a Chatbot or AI, but a human being, deeply passionate about the art of writing. If my expressions have touched your heart or sparked a thought, I warmly invite your engagement. Your interaction, be it through a clap, comment, follow, like, or subscription, holds immense value. Such gestures are more than just actions; they foster a positive community and encourage a deeper connection between us. These small acts of support are priceless to me, and I am genuinely grateful for your consideration. Thank you for being a part of my journey.

--

--

Ajit Mishra
Pens & Poems

Microsoft Product Leader, Techie, Spiritualist and A Creative Soul