The importance of consistency

Giri Prahasta Putra
pocket dimension society
2 min readJan 6, 2023
Photo by Greg Rosenke on Unsplash

Today, while walking home, I was thinking what should I do this year? 365 days is a lot of time to spend. I pondered, in these 30 years of my lifetime, what have I spent it for? I forgot most of the things I did, but the thing that truly shines and brought me who I am right now is consistency. Chipping away, gradually building something, putting grains by grains, consistency was the key that creates me.

Today is in an instant era. Everything was conjured right away in a snap of a finger. Whether it’s buying food, listening to music, getting pieces of information, or communicating with others. Even art can be generated in mere seconds. Heck, even writings. These magics were weaved by humans and constructed as something called technology. They are coming so fast and feel arcane in nature. It should be exciting, yet strangely I felt polluted by this knowledge.

I played around with ChatGPT. It was an amazing piece of technology. An AI that we can ask about everything and anything! From asking for general information to creating stories, and essays, summarising news, and even making code, games, and programs. It was fun and helpful, yet scares me. Yes, it’s disrupting. It’s scary. I had headaches for days after playing with it. I can feel something in my head wired differently after touching this insane power.

I could imagine humans will interact differently engaging with the time. Yes, some say time is a social construct. We can’t grasp time and it can’t be seen, yet we believe there’s something that flows to tell whether it’s late or early. By taking away “time” in many things, I could imagine people will forget things takes time. Like consistency.

Doing something overtime over and over, hoping it would give any result, is boring to compare with the instant era. It’s gradual, it’s phantasmally tiny steps, and it takes time and willpower to do it greatly.

So, whatever it is, whatever job or things that I’m going to do this year, I’ll try to make it consistent and a year-long project. Starting with this publication, of course. I’ll publish something here once a week. It may be long, short, maybe not good, maybe not good. Yes, it might be not good, but what I want is consistency itself.

aHR0cHM6Ly9wb2NrZXRkaW1lbnNpb25zb2NpZXR5LndlYi5hcHAvYXJjaGl2ZXMvMDAwMQ==

--

--

Giri Prahasta Putra
pocket dimension society

A programmer who live inside his head. Sometime this corporeal body being asked to blurted some of his mind and thoughts