Money Week Q&A: Antonia Prebble

Actress, ‘Westside’

PocketSmith
PocketSmith
Published in
2 min readAug 13, 2017

--

Antonia Prebble has been acting professionally since age 12. She’s kept busy in TV, film and theatre across New Zealand, Australia, and the USA. Antonia travels a lot and is currently based between Melbourne and Auckland .

We know her best from her role as then 14-year-old Loretta West on Outrageous Fortune which ran on our screens from 2005 to 2010. In 2015, she returned to play Loretta’s grandmother in the show’s prequel, Westside, which has just been funded for a fourth season (yay!)

Here are some of her money stories ❤️

What’s your best money hack?

Cooking most meals at home. I love going out for dinner but it gets pretty pricey.

What’s the most satisfying thing you’ve spent money on?

My house.

What’s the worst thing you’ve spent money on?

Cupboards for my bathroom that I had specially made. When they arrived I realised I had got the dimensions wrong and they looked completely ridiculous…they went straight to TradeMe. I am not to be trusted with any design decisions involving items that do not already exist.

What did you do with your first paycheck?

Bought some orange tab Levis. It was 1997 and I was 12 so they were a VERY big deal.

How do you manage your money today?

I’m pretty careful with money as my income is never guaranteed and is often quite varied from month to month and year to year. I try to keep my expenditure the same, regardless of whether I currently have a job or not, and I have automatic payments into various bank accounts for things like insurance and house maintenance, so that I’m not caught short for essential or unexpected payments.

Read more from our Money Week series. Stay up to date with Antonia via Facebook, Instagram and Twitter!

--

--

PocketSmith
PocketSmith

We make online money management software used by families in 195 countries! We’re passionate about helping people build better relationships with their money.