What do you really need to know before you start a podcast?

Quincy de Vries
Pod Space
Published in
4 min readMar 28, 2023
Photo by CoWomen on Unsplash

So you’ve decided to take the leap and start your own podcast!

Starting a podcast can be overwhelming, and there is a ton of advice out there about what you need to get started.

When I started my first podcast, I took a dive off the deep end and didn’t read a single article (not the smartest move). I had zero experience editing or scripting and knew nothing about how podcasts are distributed.

That being said, this post is going to walk you through everything I wish I knew before I started my show and everything I’ve learned along the way.

  1. You don’t need high-tech equipment, but you do need good sound quality

No matter what anyone says, I believe your audio quality can be the difference between a great and a lacklustre show. If someone is cutting in and out or their audio is subpar, I will always press pause and move on. The occasional interview featuring a guest with sub-par audio isn’t killer, but there are quite a few things you can do to solve the issue.

Firstly, you don’t need to go out and spend $500 on a microphone. If you enjoy audio tech and have the funds to spare- go for it! If not, you can record a show from your iPhone. The primary thing to keep in mind is your surroundings. I’ve sat underneath the covers of my bed to record segments for the radio, and recorded from inside a laundry closet for the same reason. Generally speaking, having lots of fabrics around will dampen an echo, so you’d be surprised at the number of people who recommend the closet method.

If you’re recording using AirPods or corded headphones, make sure your mic is always the same distance from your mouth and you're not bumping it around or repeatedly tucking your hair behind your ears. Your mic will pick up those rustlings sounds, and they can be difficult to edit out, especially using free software.

2. Plan at least 5 episodes in advance

One of the biggest mistakes I made when I started my show was that I planned the first episode… and that was it. Once your podcast launches and you are keeping to an upload schedule, you’ll be surprised at just how quickly everything catches up with you. When my show launched I had the (insane) upload schedule of twice a week, and I was burnt out and exhausted incredibly quickly.

Creating episode plans well in advance really saved me. These don’t need to be extremely detailed, but knowing what you’re going to talk about, why you’re going to talk about it and who you’ll be talking to is extremely helpful. It will also let you know if your show concept has legs, maybe you have enough content for two great episodes, but after that, it will be a stretch. Planning episodes in advance will immediately make this clear to you.

3. Set up all your social media accounts in advance (and actually interact with your audience)

Luckily for me, this was something I did, but I’ve talked to lots of podcasters who didn’t take this step. It’s relatively easy to set up a Twitter and Instagram account, but it sucks when you’re recording your first episode and realize you can’t ask people to go follow you on socials…because they don’t exist.

I also made the mistake of posting about new episodes and then immediately forgetting about the accounts. People would be interacting with my posts and I had no idea! You’re probably thinking, well duh! Of course, you need to interact with your audience! However, it’s easier than you might think for your podcast accounts to just slip your mind.

4. If you have a cohost, make sure you’re on the same page

This is something that I don’t think people talk about enough. If you’re starting a show with a cohost, you need to make sure you’re on the same page about your show. A few questions to ask each other:

  1. What will the division of labour be? Will we take turns writing or editing, or will one person be responsible for the same task each episode? Who will run the social media accounts, who will make our show graphics, etc?
  2. How much time are you each willing to invest? Podcasts take time, and making sure you and your cohost have a clear understanding of how much time you both will dedicate to the show is important. I’ve talked to tons of people who feel frustrated because their cohost doesn’t take the show as seriously as them, or put in the same amount of effort. Chat about it early on so it doesn’t become a problem later
  3. Will you be investing money in your show for advertisements, equipment or other expenses? While you by no means need to spend money to start a show, if that is something you’re planning on doing- make sure you discuss it. People have different levels of comfort and different budgets.

All of these conversations may feel awkward, but they’re vital if you’re going to maintain a good relationship with your cohost. If your relationship sours, it will likely be the death of your show.

5. Finally… podcasting should be fun!

As I alluded to earlier, I really hit the ground running with my show and quickly burnt out. You should be starting a podcast because it's a topic you enjoy (starting a podcast with the primary goal of making money is really not a good idea). Your podcast will take work, but you should also enjoy it. If you don’t, you’ll stop putting effort into your show.

Interested in podcasting? Follow me or write for PodSpace!

--

--

Quincy de Vries
Pod Space

Hi, I’m Quincy! .I write about history, conspiracies and a bit of everything else!