Josh Muccio
Podcast Stack
Published in
1 min readJan 26, 2016

--

Good Q. I would actually recommend a different setup for “remote podcasting” I’d go with the Shure BETA 87A and still pair it with either the Zoom Q8 (mentioned before) or the Zoom H4N if video recording isn’t needed. The Shure BETA 87A is a supercardioid condenser which means it blocks out a majority of the background noise in a room, yet you get many of the good qualities of a condenser mic (which doesn’t normally include background noise suppression).

I do use Ecamm Call Recorder for Mac for recording Skype interviews (they also have a version for FaceTime). Other alternatives include using Blab to conduct interviews while broadcasting live or you can use Zencastr if you want separate, isolated audio from each guest.

I also wrote this post to help answer a lot of these questions. Though some of the information is outdated (like my recommendation for the SM7B mic). I need to go update it. 😏

Keep me in the loop on how things are going with your podcast. I’ll gladly help promote.

--

--