chickens and a coop

My Pen

Fahsai (Nattakrita) S
Poems Et Cetera
Published in
1 min readJun 14, 2020

--

How dare you come into my pen
I said “Get out! Get out!”
You imbecile can you not hear
I said “Get out! Get out!”
Don’t dare come into my pen again

My pen is my place of peacefulness
Where I practice my placement of judgment
Towards the tumbling stones thrown at me
My pen is my place of safety
My sacred space of security

A satisfying Saturday where I relax
A lazy Sunday where I lay back
And a tiresome Monday where my mind is never on track

I lay an egg per day but it’s never good enough
The farmer bothers us day and night
I tell him “Get out! Get out!”
But he never seems to hear me

I bother and I peck
But I never receive attention or respect
I cry and I try
But I only seem weak

Don’t dare come into my pen again
I said “Get out! Get out!”
You imbecile can you not hear
I said “Get out! Get out!”
How dare you come into my pen

--

--