My God

Yvonne Duin
Poems For Insomnia
Published in
1 min readNov 11, 2014

They say that the moment you stop looking for love is when it finds you.
They say that if you hunt, you will always come up empty handed.
They argue that the key to finding love is forgetting about it.
I wish I could forget about you.

I wish I could forget about the way your cat lined eyes pierced through me.
I wish I could forget about how you had me worked out in a pint, that you knew what to ask, how to pry and how to lie in an effort to understand me.
I wish I could forget the cigarette floral and crisp spring hops that jumped up to meet me as I reached down to squeeze you.

You know, they say that you begin to forget,
That each day you think less.
But less leaves nothing when you've only got the knowledge
and all I've ever known is that you are Beautiful.

My God are you Beautiful

--

--