Mohammed Brückner
Poems For The Masses
2 min readOct 14, 2023

--

Ahem, my dear friend, let me tell you a tale,

Of software adoption, and the dilemma that prevails,

To build or to buy, a choice so grand,

But oh, the perils that come with this land.

First, let's talk of core and non-core,

A distinction so fine, it's hard to ignore,

But alas, my friend, it's not always so clear,

For what's core today, may be non-core, my dear.

Cost versus control, a delicate dance,

For custom-built software, a price so enhance,

But off-the-shelf, a bargain so fine,

Yet standardization, oh how it does shine.

Flexibility, a trait so divine,

But alas, my friend, it's not always so fine,

For custom-built software, a tailor so precise,

Yet off-the-shelf, a one-size-fits-all device.

Now, let's talk of resources, so rare,

And complexity, a beast so unfair,

For building software, a feat so grand,

Yet buying, a path so much simpler, my hand.

But wait, my friend, there's more to this tale,

For hybrid, a word so elegant, yet so frail,

A mix of both, a choice so wise,

Yet, oh, the challenges that it implies.

So, my dear friend, the choice is thine,

To build or to buy, a path so divine,

But remember, my friend, the perils so grand,

And choose, my friend, with a careful hand.

But wait, my friend, there's more to this rhyme,

For the author of this article, so fine,

Has left out, my friend, a critical view,

Of the vendors, oh so few.

For they, my friend, with their software so grand,

May promise the world, but deliver so bland,

And the customization, oh so rare,

May leave you, my friend, with a software so bare.

So, my dear friend, beware of the hype,

And look beyond, the shiny bright light,

For software adoption, a choice so grand,

Requires a thoughtful, a careful hand.

And now, my friend, this poem so fun,

Comes to an end, with a message so done,

To build or to buy, a choice so grand,

Requires a strategy, so well-planned.

--

--

Mohammed Brückner
Poems For The Masses

Author of "IT is not magic, it's architecture", "The DALL-E Cookbook For Great AI Art: For Artists. For Enthusiasts."- Visit https://platformeconomies.com