Nita Jain
poems from the pandemic
Apr 25, 2022
Photo by Kenny Eliason on Unsplash

in my mind, you’re not engaging
in your mind, i’m overthinking
outside our door, the war rages on
the silence between us so loud
you can hear a pin drop

you paint me as one-dimensional
always good, always sweet
but i am complex and exist in the grey
just like any other human being

you like to keep it light
simple and superficial
but I desire to swim deep
across the english channel

you like to go with the flow
and take each day as it comes
i am persnickety to a fault
and plan itineraries down to a T

you say I’m being emotional
and ought to leave complexity be
but I have kept close company with Socrates
and cannot live an unexamined life

--

--

Nita Jain
poems from the pandemic

I share health and science insights to improve your quality of life | nitajain.substack.com