From Then to Now

A poem about the changing world and bringing change

Kristina Oberlander
Poems of healing
1 min readApr 2, 2022

--

Photo by Greg Raines on Unsplash

Knowing what I was doing that day
I would never want to change a thing
I waited with my friends in their car
Blasting the music and singing along
It was just us three teens
It’s very exciting to have such freedom
Thinking back, I can still feel the rush
To be so young and without any worries
We needed that so desperately
Just to spend a single day together
A day where nothing went wrong
When we felt like anything was possible
Late into the evening when things grew quiet
We made our vows to live like this forever

Little did we know what life would become
Greed and hate filled the news
Fear and distrust became the normality
A world once filled with endless opportunity
Quickly became one of hostility
I would never change a thing we did that long ago day
My past is my hope
Find your hope and join me too
Together we can make a change
We can right the wrongs
Peace and love can conquer all
But only if our numbers are strong
Our intentions pure
Let’s be the changing force
It is time to stand and fight with love

--

--