Hopeful

Prathamesh
PoemsRR
Published in
2 min readJun 24, 2019

Overwhelmed,
Just by the thought
of it all.

Lonely,
That’s how I’ve
always been.

Scared,
For she’s quite
not with me.

Broken,
For she hugged
Me GOODBYE.

Excited,
For the venture has
just begun.

Curious,
To meditate
and explore.

Grateful,
For all the souls
that touched me.

In love,
For SHE hugged
me goodbye.

Humbled,
by the success of
my past ventures.

In love,
Liberated, free
And flying.

Running,
For it pushes
More air in.

Blessed,
For she hugged
ME goodbye.

Poetry,
Only one way,
I know, out.

Smiling,
For I can write
the future.

Patient,
To see it all
come true.

Hopeful,
For she HUGGED
me goodbye.

-Prathamesh Patel
10:44 AM
14 Jan 2018

I have never felt a “single” emotion for anything in my life. I have always felt a mix of them. Even if a circumstance makes me happy, it also somewhere makes me feel excited or maybe sad or maybe anxious. And it’s getting worse for all of us. This, I feel, is because of the complexities of our well structured and organized modern digital societies.

A simple life is meaningful. But the pursuit of a simple life seems out of reach for the majority. For simplicity cannot be achieved materially. It must be attained internally. The state of “no-mind” is often discussed in the meditation communities and we see a surge of mindfulness apps popping out. This makes me happy and sad (Didn’t I just tell you about it?) Sad, for we need them as a society in the first place. Happy, for we realize finally that we need them.

Hopeful is an attempt to uncover the complexities of the human emotions emerging out of a single event of departure.

Life is simple. The world we chose to spend our lives in, is not.

--

--

Prathamesh
PoemsRR
Editor for

Product | Cloud | VC | Poetry | Cooking | Violin