Rest on, Prof. Udemezue

Chiamaka Ikeanyi
Poesie
Published in
2 min readJun 26, 2020

It’s still like a dream that Prof. is no more. I thought about the fact that a man of integrity is gone. My initial thought was “No, it’s just but a dream”. Then after a few more hours, it dawned on me that it’s a reality. A sad one indeed.

He is someone I admire due to his principles and positive influence. He has been my family doctor right from childhood. We attended the same Church and he speaks with wisdom. A man of few words whose life was cut abruptly.

Sometimes, I feel the good die young. This got me thinking about the fragility of human life.

To truly live, and not merely exist, we need to understand this. The universe is in the hands of a God not bound by time, space and matter. He has all the answers to our questions.

An iroko has fallen
A great Medical practitioner just slept
Prof, left so soon
To be with the Lord yesterday

I refuse to weep for long
Though tears fill my eyes
I’m consoled cos I know
That Prof is not dead but sleeps

He has been freed
From the worries of this world
To rest in eternity
With the creator of the world

Only if I knew 13th June would mark
The last convo we’ll have
I could have thanked you
For all you’ve done for us

A jovial man
Exemplified Christian
Who has discipled
And influenced many positively

Have you considered getting a masters degree?
These words of yours keep echoing in my ears
Your patients misses you
The drugs you administer in bulk frightens us

But yet so effective
That we bend to say a word of prayer in appreciation
You believe in maintenance
Not quickly quitting after the symptoms are gone

Look around, I still have a lot of work to do here you said
Now you’re gone and the work remains
All the plans you have for your family and loved ones
Relax, God is here to see them through

Life is so ephemeral
You’ve played your part so well
And since the die is cast
Sleep on at the bosom of the Lord.

Till we meet to part no more.

— Chiamaka Ikeanyi
26/06/2020

--

--