Intro into Lee

LeTavious Hemingway
Poetic Ice Rants
Published in
4 min readOct 11, 2019
Take Caution, you never know what’s going to come out of my mouth or my pen

The name I was given at birth was LeTavious Roymar Hemingway. As I grew up in Conway, South Carolina, raised by two parents who survived the civil rights era, my mind was molded into a complex place that strived for creativity and equality. Sprinkle in a love for music thanks to my dad being a DJ during, and add a dash or writing talent thanks to my mom being an amazing teacher advocate for literary achievement and you are left with the final product of me. I write a range of things from drama to science fiction as well as poetry, short stories, and novels. I’m just as diverse in what I prefer to write as my parents wanted me to be, free to be me and not constricted.

I’m an extroverted introvert most of the time. I guess an “Omnivert” depending on the situation. Delving into the written word was my escape from the world of academics in college and became a therapeutic tool for survival. I’ve written hundreds of poems and short stories that I plan on sharing them here as well. My poetry and short stories led to novel length work, two of which I self published. One an fantasy fiction novel and the other an urban drama.

Available on Amazon for those who love fantasy fiction with African American heroes.

Sacred Swords is the epic story of Leon and his girlfriend Devin who are thrown into a life changing journey by their ancestors. While in their last semester of college things quickly change from textbooks and tests to swords and quests. With the help of their protectors, both are entrusted with a duty to save the world from an ancient evil. The world they once knew is rapidly changing, and even at school things are not all they seem. Check it out on Amazon

An urban drama following the life of Jordan Jones, a young single mother trying to survive Drugs, Sex, and abuse in Chamberlyn, New York

The Candy Shop is an urban drama set in the fictional city of Chamberlyn, New York. Jordan Jones is a young black woman who is the object of many a man’s fantasy is working hard to finish college during the day and as a stripper at night for The Candy Shop Strip Club to provide for her three year old son, Grey. With very few friends to rely on and a basically nonexistent family she’s become skeptical of the world, and very cut off. She wears sarcasm and a bad attitude like body armor as she deals with the criticisms of the world. The father of her child is a successful lawyer who is more underhanded than he seems to the public, and he’ll stop at nothing to achieve his goals. But a messed up family and a demented baby daddy are the least of her problems as a new sinister figure moves into town to take over the seedy underbelly and sets his sights on her. Sex, drugs, and danger leave very little room for love, but even love finds Jordan Jones in Chamberlyn, New York. Welcome to The Chamberlyn Chronicles.

The Newest phase: Fatherhood

I took a break from writing as life took many turns since my college days, but with the start of my newest phase of life i’m picking up the ink sword again and making progress. Fatherhood has been a blessing and goal of mine for a while now so why not leave him a legacy in ink?

LeTavious “Poetic Ice” Hemingway

--

--

LeTavious Hemingway
Poetic Ice Rants

I’m a lover of writing poetry, short stories and novels everything ranging from drama to science fiction are up for grabs with me! www.poeticice.com