Sleep Deprivation is the New Normal

LeTavious Hemingway
Poetic Ice Rants
Published in
2 min readOct 19, 2019
sleep is a joy that shouldn’t be taken lightly

In my new parenting journey I’ve learned that your infant has two extremely hard jobs: The first is to grow physically, and the second is to develop mentally. For these things to be accomplished as we all hope for you baby requires a few things from you. First, an unyielding dedication to their safety and needs being met. That means you make sure nothing hurts them or they hurt themselves. Also, and it’s a no brainer here guys, feed them when the want food!

Another thing they need from you that’s written in the fine print of the stork’s contract when they bring you your blessing is you must sacrifice your sleep to the Gods! Once the sleep is gone, the insanity will set in.

SLEEP DEPRIVATION

Is a serious situation that isn’t truly understood until you are in the trenches with your infant hurling scream grenades all over your broken sleep habit battle field. Now you are making mistakes that start simple enough but soon grow into nuclear bombs. One moment your trying to make a bottle in the middle of the night, but now your trying to attach a nipped to a gallon water jug. This progress into trying to fill your Yeti cup with water but then you steal the canister in the kitchen that contains your cream of wheat because it’s the same color of your cup. I’ve even gotten to the point of trying to wash my face with toothpaste. Someone SEND HELP!

As a person I’ve never felt so debilitated in my life but at the same time it’s the happiest I’ve ever been. Being a father is one of the greatest joys in my life. So I’ll happily take being a zombie with toothpaste all over my face. So for the next few months (or 18 years) sleep deprivation is the new normal on my house and I’ll eagerly face it.

-LeTavious Hemingway

--

--

LeTavious Hemingway
Poetic Ice Rants

I’m a lover of writing poetry, short stories and novels everything ranging from drama to science fiction are up for grabs with me! www.poeticice.com