Interpretative Phenomenological Analysis

Poetic Mindfulness
Poetic Mindfulness
Published in
2 min readSep 22, 2020

I used empirical phenomenology to analyze the data that came from the interviews in order to explore the spatial perception of the blind. My research is based on the principle of empirical phenomenology for the analysis of the data.

The reason for this is because the focus of my study is on the exploration of blind people’s life experiences. I intend to emphasize the objective experience of a living entity. The interpretation of the intrinsic essence of the analysis is a minor concern.

The traits of empirical phenomenology comprise of the basic principle of interpretative phenomenology and the content analysis of the objective data. Those properties conform to the needs of this study.

I follow the steps below to launch the data gathering and analysis: First, I emphasize the structure of phenomena. Second, I do discourse analysis through the grasp of reality. Third, discourse analysis is based on the strictness of operation steps. Fourth, the interpretation of activities lies throughout the course of the study.

From the interview data with the blind people, I got the blind people’s descriptions regarding spatial perception and utilized them to obtain a general structural narrative of the spatial perception of blind people.

More specifically, the first step is to soak myself into the interview data over and over again, and then find out the main point of the narrative description of blind people’s perception. Secondly, is to make propositions about the blind people’s perception, and do all possible description of the proposition.

Then, the relevant narrative of the proposition will become the situated structural description of the blind. From the interviewees’ shared themes, I can develop the general situated structure, which expresses the common phenomenon occurring in all participants’ experiences.

Originally published at http://poeticmindfulness.wordpress.com on September 22, 2020.

--

--

Poetic Mindfulness
Poetic Mindfulness

slow down my brain, breathe deeply, foster present-moment awareness, keep an open and friendly mind to appreciate what is going on in and around me.