He Himself Is Our Peace

Lisa Boyl-Davis, LICSW
CRY Magazine
Published in
2 min readJan 12, 2021

--

My brother’s skin is dark,

My sister voted right,

Though praying to the self-same God,

hostility is high.

We used to share a pew,

and worship side by side,

I wonder, would I say hello,

If you were passing by?

But He Himself is our peace

He Himself makes us one

He is breaking down the hostile wall

Between your hate and mine.

He Himself is our peace.

She always wears a mask,

He proudly never will.

Though God is Father to them both,

Divisions growing still.

It’s the ‘learned’ against the ‘dumb’

The ‘free’ against the ‘sheep.’

While in his body,

by his stripes,

God chips away the grief.

But He, Himself is our peace

He Himself makes us one

He is breaking down the hostile wall

Between your hate and mine

He Himself is our peace

--

--

Lisa Boyl-Davis, LICSW
CRY Magazine

My name is Lisa. I am a trauma and couples therapist, love to write, sing, hike, pray, bike, and accidently burn food too often.