A Feeling

Of tranquillity.

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
2 min readMay 22, 2024

--

Photo by Caleb Ekeroth on Unsplash

Way past the last sights I’m seeing,
I wing into the night air,
A feeling of tranquillity,
As you will always be there.

Cool and clear and so near,
A river that runs so deep,
A scene I’ve seen in a dream,
Warm and content in my sleep.

Parts of the past are streaming,
Are lost and evaporate,
Parts I have seen when dreaming,
I bend and submit to my fate.

Ports in my thoughts are drifting,
Into a northern new day,
The wing flaps gradually shifting,
I pause though there’s nothing to say.

Songs from an anthem of angels,
A hover then rush, in the air,
Touch is as much I am feeling,
Then people appear everywhere.

I long to lay down on my pillow,
And drink in the here and now,
Sleep and wake up beside you,
Be amazed and wonder how.

I breathe in the air that is warming,
The sun, the dance, and the dare,
And without a word of warning,
I look round and you are there.

We feel we can steal the new morning,
And drink in the atmosphere,
And dance as the day is dawning,
With you, we are finally here.

©

David Rudder
2024

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.