A Perfect Place

To muse

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
1 min readOct 10, 2022

--

Photo by Sebastian Pena Lambarri on Unsplash

On a windswept island
With uninterrupted views
My mind soared o’er the ocean.
A perfect place to muse.

I picked up passing notions.
And hummed a reverie
And soared across the heavens
And mapped the endless sea

On wings and liberated
I saw my reflection
Mirrored in the sun and sky
Part of the contemplation.

The images diminished
until I was with one
I alone by myself
With no place to run.

With expectations narrowed
And the simplicity of my food.
I contemplated reflections
And changed to another mood

An atmosphere and ambience
Never seen before
Satisfaction and tranquillity
Next to heaven’s door.

I flew away on wings of gold.
To places in my dreams
A place of the new acceptance
Amongst cool mountain streams.

When I awoke, my mind was still.
The island is my home.
And meditation envelops me.
A photograph in chrome.

Copyright reserved.

David Rudder
2022

Thanks for reading.

Join Medium for only US $5 a month to access all stories and poems and a platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports.
https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.