A Rare

Word disorder

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
1 min readNov 23, 2022

--

Photograph by Author.

When I walked into the room
It looked like an illusion.
It might be people I know.
That added to my confusion.

There was Vic and Faye and also Ray.
And Lori, with her groodle
Jan and a man named Dave
And an illiterate Chinese noodle.

Marie from France danced.
Then Lyn let down her hair.
Betty, Aileen, and Wilga too
Said come on, this isn’t fair.

Jill did the Watutsi.
And Vic played his saxophone.
That left Meurys and Ron playing.
On an old slide trombone.

I thought it was an allusion.
It spelt with an and not an “I.”
Just a passing reference
To cream and apple pie.

Then it was Faye who made my day.
She said Dave, what on earth are these illusions.
I took a breath and said to her.
My perversely perceived impressions.

Now that I’d satisfied Vic
Lori brought me to order
And said Dave, I think you suffer from
A rare word disorder.

©

David Rudder
2022

Thank you for reading my poetry.
If you wish to read more, join me.

Join Medium for only US $5 a month to access all stories and poems and a platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports.
https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.