A Shadow

Walks in front of me.

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
1 min readMay 15, 2024

--

Photo by Tom Morel on Unsplash

A shadow walks in front of me
I’m followed by the sun
the fading light is my delight
sunset is on the run.

O’er the hills and valleys
shadows merge into the mist
the evening bird sings soulful songs
the nighttime can’t resist.

Light threads through the forest fringe
and drifts into recognition
of a spark starting the fire
of spontaneous ignition.

Deep inside the evening sky
shadows paint the purple heather
colours of deep grey and gold
brush o’er oncoming weather.

The shadows from the flickering fire
draws lightening in vivid patterns
across the walls of silent sentinels
dripping boughs of swinging lanterns.

Shadows crossed across the moon
storm clouds brew in the west
blanketing moonbeams in the air
then softly come to rest.

The sleeping shadows keep waiting
to feed off new light beams
and fall-in silhouette reflections
in nights of endless dreams.

©

David Rudder
2024

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.