A Story

Of optimism.

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
2 min readJul 22, 2023

--

Photo by Armand Khoury on Unsplash

Where do the melodies linger
How long since the song has gone
Where have we hidden the vinyl
The unchained melody song.

Let off the leash and liberated
Reborn and rearranged
Who has the young in my memory
Who knows, I haven’t changed.

I’ve tidied the tools in the garage
The car has a sparkle and sheen
I still have my bag of marbles
strong capricious, and keen.

If you could see beyond the scree
And the landslide of slipping skin
You’ll see the blue deep in my eyes
And the sparkle of my cheeky grin.

It’s called “In the Land of the Living”.
Seventy-one and still looking forward
Hanging from the shrouds and smiling
Enjoying just being aboard.

The wind sings the song in the rigging
The seascape is rearranged
The clouds make funny faces
I’m laughing and still unchanged.

Subtleties smile in the shadows
The sunshine has turned to gold
A story of optimism
I’ve read but rarely been told

©

David Rudder
2023

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.
If you enjoyed this and would like to read more, join Medium for only US $5 a month or US $50 a year to access all my stories and poems and thousands of other poets and writers and use this platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports.
https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.