Arcane

And elliptical.

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
2 min readMay 23, 2022

--

Photograph by Author

They sent me a message
From an English Dan
Was it meant to be a presage
to a Neanderthal man.

I answered her in language.
Not known on this planet
And ate a sausage sandwich
Tasting is just like pomegranate.

Dan lives up in an aerie
Which looks out on the ocean
She is a magic faerie
What type, I have no notion.

She’s a mermaid in the water.
Neptune by the sea
Her mother’s mystic daughter
Her spirit is wild and free.

I loved her in an instant.
My heart held in a trance
Out at sea and distant
Whales surfaced in their dance.

The V8 motor throbbing
A freezing winter night
With sharp scissors robbing
Curled hair was set alight.

We laughed and loved
And travelled
In our minds
To other lands
Where love is mysteriously
Magnetic
Held together
By silver strands.

We now write
Cryptic messages
Both elliptical
And arcane
And walk down
An empty road
The same one
From which we came

©

David Rudder
2012

Thanks for reading.

Become a Medium member for only US$5 a month!

Read every poem and story from David Rudder (and thousands of other writers on Medium).
Your membership fee directly supports other writers you read and me. You’ll get full access to every photograph, story, and poem on Medium. It will also give you an excellent platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports on Medium.

https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.