As You Slowly Disappear

The last dancer.

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
1 min readFeb 14, 2024

--

Photo by David Hofmann on Unsplash

Indiscernible sound waves
Filter through my mind
Searching for the theatre
Staggering, around half-blind.

Moments become changeable
Which ones have I missed?
Is the forest in the trees
The last time we felt bliss.

Envelopes of attitude
Unopened in a box
Avoiding confrontation
As cunning as a fox.

Fickle fashions fluctuate
One day here the next day gone
I watched you on the catwalk
And wonder can you carry on.

Hallucinatory factors
Have coloured my resolve
Life is so unpredictable
As you slowly dissolve.

Mutable anticipation
Is variable in the extreme
Show me one more fickle move
You’ll likely hear me scream.

Enough is enough too much is less
Who has the real answer?
As you slowly disappear
Are you the last dancer?

©

David Rudder
2024

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.
Join Medium for as little as US$5 a month or US$15 a month to become a “Friend of Medium” and enjoy the experience of being paid for publishing your thoughts and reading an assortment of great poetry and stories, on this unique platform.

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.