Blissfully Saved

From gossip

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
2 min readOct 3, 2022

--

Photo by Ben White on Unsplash

I can hear those that are near.
Though other times it’s mist
The scuttlebutt and gossip
I’m glad that I missed it.

I look like I am listening.
But cannot hear a word
I have selective hearing.
Most words in a crowd are blurred.

Especially in a crowded room
When many tongues are wagging
It sounds like a drone in my ears.
The whine of voices nagging.

I nod my head and say yes, yes.
I completely understand
When in truth, it’s clear as mud
And that natter should be banned.

It’s incredibly irritating.
When everyone speaks at once
And like noddy, I dip my head.
And diddle doddle like a dunce.

It’s often an advantage.
To not know or hear claptrap.
Idle gossip titbits and scandal
Scuttlebutt and other tittle-tatt

And blissfully be saved.
From rumours, folks are spreading.
And set off on another route.
The scaremongers are treading.

It appears that I am blessed,
and I thank my lucky stars.
I don’t need to hear the whispers.
Buzz and scandal told in bars.

And now I can rest happy.
Make a trip or take a cruise.
And turn up the volume.
If I want to hear the news

©

David Rudder
2022

Thank you for reading my poetry.
If you wish to read more, join me.

Join Medium for only US $5 a month to access all stories and poems and a platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports.
https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.