Changes I Accept

Life

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
2 min readNov 15, 2022

--

Photo by Clay Banks on Unsplash

As the years slip away.
There’s little left to prove
I know my strengths and weaknesses
And like the way I move

I accept the many changes.
I face as I grow older.
And enjoy the sheer simplicity.
Of nights as they grow colder

I know my time is limited.
And I accept the end.
And appreciate that my mind is clear.
And not around the bend

I’ve learnt to live on my own
It sits comfortably with me
It gives me a choice to enjoy my time
The true feeling of free

I love my friends; they keep me sane
And I learn from everyone
That contentment comes from within
And the joy of having fun

Taking life too seriously
It is a hard load to bear
Living life on my own
Is life without a care

So here I sit, the ode is writ
And watch my garden grow
Quite content on my own
A place I’ve grown to know

©

David Rudder
2022

Thank you for reading my poetry.
If you wish to read more, join me.

Join Medium for only US $5 a month to access all stories and poems and a platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports.
https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.