Compromise

And acceptance

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
2 min readFeb 17, 2023

--

Photo by Beto Galetto on Unsplash

Compromise acceptance and concessions.
Acquiescence and recognition of the facts
Release the chains of my anxieties.
It relieves my head and helps me to relax.

It’s difficult to accept what I can’t change.
And courage to change the things I can
The wisdom to know the difference
And remember the frailties of man.

I seldom, if ever, reach my destination.
But almost always end up where I should be
On the journey, I walk hand in hand with destiny.
And remember, it’s always about others, not only me.

In the evening
I am responsible for my failure and success.
And not to load blame on others for my circumstance.
And never seek revenge for justice and redress.

Some facets spin wildly in a vortex.
Or swing crazily on the pendulum of my life.
And others that fly free out of the window
Onto new experiences free of pain and strife.

The road is the place I travel.
Along the way, there’s sanctity and sin.
Combined with happiness and heartache
I compete and know I will only sometimes win.

As I face another day, I am accepting.
There is bound to be another test.
I plan to approach the day with humility.
And know that what I do will always be my best.

©

David Rudder
2023

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.
If you enjoyed this and wish to read more, join Medium for only US $5 a month or US $50 a year to access all my stories and poems and thousands of other poets and writers and use this platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports.
https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.