Cover Story

Buyer beware

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
1 min readNov 16, 2022

--

Photo by Jaredd Craig on Unsplash

Don’t judge a book by its cover
I was told buyer beware
Underneath that slinky dress
There may be body hair

Mistakes that turn into errors
It can be costly and uncouth
Even though you have delicious lips
You may be Babe Ruth

As I wander down the aisles
To satisfy my sight
I prefer subtle book covers
The ones that mightn’t bite

I like to read a paragraph.
To see if it enthrals.
Suspense sex and sorority
And horror in the halls.

Something to take my mind away
On a holiday
And stay for the duration
Away from the affray

Dreams hide behind the covers.
And underneath the sheets.
Warming in the winter
Relief from summer heats

I’ve often been enchanted.
By a book and its cover
Usually, they turn out to be
Another version of my mother

©

David Rudder
2014

Thank you for reading my poetry.
If you wish to read more, join me.

Join Medium for only US $5 a month to access all stories and poems and a platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports.
https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.