Dancing in a Trance

Past Midnight.

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
2 min readMay 22, 2022

--

Photo by Oziel Gómez on Unsplash

The melodies left lingering.
Like silk, it slips through my fingers
All through the dance and the romance
It remains with me and lingers.

I can feel the dance floor ask for more
Emptied without a murmur of circumstance
You and I are left alone in our innocence
As we drift and dance in a trance.

We imbibed in refined encounters.
The band's melodies lingered in a stance.
Midnight has come and disappeared again.
And left us together dancing in a trance.

Your beauty is masked by the nighttime
and is blinded by the dance
and your presence as you glide softly with me
Across the open sea, we dance in a trance.

It feels like another moment of madness
A walk in the morning dew out in the park
I could easily stay in animated suspension
Holding you as we're dancing in the dark.

There's a feeling that outlasts every other
Two by two, we parade past into our ark
When we're together, there'll never be another
In our soft embrace, we disappear into the dark.

In deep waters, lost in the elements
And circulate and hover in delight
We cling together tightly suspended
And float gently fade away into the night.

I am locked in the magic of your presence
We are the tree and bark of romance
We are one and can't be separated
As we meld together in this inexorable trance.

Although its far past midnight
We glide and imbibe in the night
A place where your face I gently trace
A kiss of pure delight.

©

David Rudder
2022

Thanks for reading.

Become a Medium member for only US$5 a month!

Read every poem and story from David Rudder (and thousands of other writers on Medium).
Your membership fee directly supports other writers you read and me. You'll get full access to every photograph, story, and poem on Medium. It will also give you an excellent platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports on Medium.

https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.