Earth

Care for me.

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
2 min readJun 4, 2022

--

Photo by Gabriel Jimenez on Unsplash

I’m a product of decomposition.
without me, you’d wither and die
I live outside in your garden.
Teardrops water me from the sky.

I’ll dirty your hands when you dig me.
and cling onto the soles of your shoes
I like to be moist, soft, and friable.
And can suffer from overuse.

Till me, and I’ll grow good crops.
and reproduce for a season or two
add rotted matter, and I will flourish
Then leave me fallow with little to do.

If you care for me, I’ll look after you.
and grow blossoms to your heart’s desire
I green tracts of land in the country.
And produce the vegetables you require.

If you walk on me, it doesn’t matter.
but with respect, I’ll continually improve
I’m restless and in stormy weather.
I often slip sideways and move.

I am one of the four essential elements.
along with water, wind, and the sun
I make practical sense and am grounded.
One for all and all for one.

I’m a product of decomposition.
without me, you’d wither and die
I live outside in your garden.
Teardrops water me from the sky.

©

David Rudder
2022

Thanks for reading.

Become a Medium member for only US$5 a month!
Read every poem and story from David Rudder (and thousands of other writers on Medium).
Your membership fee directly supports other writers you read and me. You’ll get full access to every photograph, story, and poem on Medium. It will also give you an excellent platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports on Medium.
https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.