Eternity

In an hour.

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
1 min readFeb 25, 2024

--

Photo by Karsten Füllhaas on Unsplash

Stretching to infinity
How long will it last?
Leaving by the back door
Did you go too fast?

When does it finish?
Who says that it’s over?
Are there greener fields
Filled with flowers and clover.

There always is another side
Judge me by my cover
Am I the one under the sun
Or just another lover.

Perennial can be infinite
Or evaporate from sight
Something always stays behind
Beware some memories bite.

Or come back to haunt me
Love never disappears
Excise it from my memory
And then it reappears.

Abiding and enduring
Persistent and permanent
Continual and unfailing
Love was always meant.

To change like the seasons
And as day turns to night
Flowing throughout the year
Never wrong or right.

In the garden year after year
I watch buds come to flower
Perennial and perpetual
Eternity in an hour.

©

David Rudder
2024

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.