Flash of Fluorescence

The twinkle of a star.

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
1 min readSep 10, 2023

--

Photo by Luke Stackpoole on Unsplash

A flash of fluorescence
The twinkle of a star,
Sensual scintillation,
A scene seen from afar.

Willed by mists of magic,
Float from afar and fall,
And diffract with starlight,
To hold me in enthral.

I watch and wait and wonder,
Often the song is long,
The chorus is the final call,
An everlasting song.

I hear it sung on the wind,
And in the morning mist,
I blink and think what I saw,
Is something that I missed.

The wheel rolls along the road,
Then in moments of momentum,
Spins and things turn upside down,
The odds gather in per centum.

I count the cost and new impost,
And then pick up the pieces,
And gather them in Bethlehem,
And try to iron out the creases.

Love is a long, lilting lament,
Peace of mind is pacified,
Living on a precipice,
Gravity denied.

Passion is the fashion,
Imaged in imagination,
Ultraviolet delight,
Turns into scintillation.

©

David Rudder
2023

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.

Click below to Join Medium for more great poetry and stories.
Write and be paid!

https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.