Fly Me

To the moon.

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
1 min readSep 18, 2023

--

Thank you, Diana Krall, and YouTube.

Is it time to take a trip,
And travel to the moon,
Or to bide and maybe hide,
Because it is too soon.

All aboard today may fray,
Dissolve and disappear,
I’ll pay my way, cause it’s okay,
Let’s do it have no fear.

To the moon in a saloon,
A shuttle and smooth ride,
Join the queue, to see the blue,
Come on, no need to hide.

It all happens so quickly,
One blink and you have gone,
Haste in space is happening,
On this ride, you’re on.

Sitting in the moonlight,
The sweet smell of summer air,
Stars falling from heaven,
Let’s travel if you dare.

I’d like to walk and talk with you,
And travel to the moon,
With metamorphic music,
Some call it a loony tune.

Will, I trip over your lip,
And can I dodge the words,
Or twitter with a litter,
Of recalcitrant birds.

Fly me to the moon, it’s not too soon,
To pack your bags and go,
And take a Luna holiday,
No need to let the neighbours know.

©

David Rudder
2023

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.

Click below to Join Medium for more great poetry and stories.
Write and be paid!

https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.