Poetic Essences

Food to Die For

Before I go.

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

--

Photo by Jeff Siepman on Unsplash

Before I go
I’d order a spread
That leaves me sated
Before I am dead.

No stomachache
After would I feel
Cause I’d be deady bones
After the meal.

I’d start with
The grape of the vine
A well-rounded, smooth glass
Of red wine.

Then follow up
With a tasty entrée
Of king prawns and lemon
Served up on a tray.

Photo by Maria Labanda on Unsplash

After eating as many
Prawns, as I’m able
A seafood platter would
Be brought to the table.

Crammed with delectable
Morsels of fish
With oysters and scallops
To make up the dish.

Photo by Adolfo Félix on Unsplash

After eating it all
I’d order the port
And sweets
Of delicious fruit torte.

Photo by Helen Oreshchenko on Unsplash

Then being fulfilled
I’d let out a sigh
Ah, a meal for which
I would willingly die.

Photo by Dan Meyers on Unsplash

©

David Rudder
2022

Thanks for reading.

Become a Medium member for only US$5 a month!

Read every poem and story from David Rudder (and thousands of other writers on Medium).
Your membership fee directly supports David Rudder and other writers you read. You’ll get full access to every photograph, story, and poem on Medium. It will also give you an excellent platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports on Medium.

https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.