Genie

In a bottle

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
1 min readOct 6, 2022

--

Photo by Alexander Grey on Unsplash

Imprisoned in a bottle
A lamp or silver urn
In Arabic folklore
Waiting for a turn

To be rubbed and let out.
And grant my magic wishes.
Someone to tidy up the house
And wash the dirty dishes.

If I had three wishes
Which ones would I take
What would be the very best
And sure to take the cake

I know there is no Genie.
Yet if there’s something to find
There is nothing more powerful
Then the genius of my mind

If I want something
I know I must be careful
To ask for only that
Which is valuable and helpful

If I ask for too much
Or riches past my reckoning
The blackbird may come home to roost
And not of my beckoning

I am a man of good fortune
And I want for nothing
And if there were a Genie
He may be the second coming

©

David Rudder
2014

Thank you for reading my poetry.
If you wish to read more, join me.

Join Medium for only US $5 a month to access all stories and poems and a platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports.
https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.