Holding Onto

Thin air

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
1 min readSep 15, 2022

--

Photo by Bernard Hermant on Unsplash

Hanging by my fingertips
Holding on to thin air
And that’s not all
I sometimes stop and stare

And savour magic moments.
A fish caught on a hook.
Living in another world
In pages of a book

Then I caress, and I press
My hand to hold the cold
The rapture that I capture
It cannot be bought or sold

My eyes defy the sunlight.
In shaded sultry shadows
And my feet move to the beat
From poetry to prose

I am pleased by the breeze.
And am salved by salt sea air.
Holding fast as it passed
To live without a care.

Days that pass like heartbeats
Nights that drift away
Thoughts I caught in a moonbeam
The memories that stay

The time and rhyme are music.
My mind reminds me when
And where we used to share
Drifts in and out again

I’m holding on to each moment.
Precious as pearls from the sea
Blowing in from the ocean
I’m where I want to be

©

David Rudder
2022

Thanks for reading

Join Medium for only US $5 a month to access all stories and poems and a platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports.
https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.