Homegrown

Images.

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
1 min readJun 21, 2023

--

Photo by Peter Žagar on Unsplash

There are too many places
Stored inside my mind
From way back in my childhood
Places I’ve left behind.

To name them would be futile
A resume of where I’ve been
Yet each one has left a nuance
The places that I’ve seen.

Some memories linger longer
And surface frequently
Those from times long ago
And others more recently.

Places more than faces
Leave indelible memories
Each evokes a feeling
Like haunting melodies.

The places I remember
Each has different shades
A movement in the weather
And evening when the light fades.

Some places lift my spirits
And lead the repertoire
Of songs rhythm and music
Written in an old memoir.

They disappear and reappear
And have minds of their own
They lift me, don’t let me down
And are mine and homegrown.

©

David Rudder
2023

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.
If you enjoyed this and would like to read more, join Medium for only US $5 a month or US $50 a year to access all my stories and poems and thousands of other poets and writers and use this platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports.
https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.