I Am an Apparition

Mirage.

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
1 min readJun 23, 2024

--

Photo by Anton Sulsky on Unsplash

I am the oasis in the desert
shimmering on the silver sands
the clear cool water that disappears
when dipped into your hands.

I merge into the mountain mist
around the break of the day
some say I’m an apparition
when seen, I fade away.

Once seen, I am the mind’s eye
a vision floating in the mind
I resemble what the heart desire
and thoughts once left behind.

I come to you, deep in your dreams
in a magical illusion
as elusive as quicksilver
I illuminate your imagination.

I am an innovation
a creation of inspiration
magnified for you to see
I am wrapped in your intuition.

A ghostly prescience wafting past
or merely a perception
in your mind, that will not last
a fleeting hallucination.

Like the wind, I disappear
a daydream and reverie
a phantom and a vision
you can no longer see.

I am the mirage marvel
a sight there for sore eyes
a beautiful sight to behold
but always in disguise.

©

David Rudder
2024

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.