I Chase the Moon

Around the room.

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
1 min readMar 24, 2024

--

Photo by Anthony Tran on Unsplash

I wait it’s late
The world is now a whisper
The faeries wings have flown
I knew that I missed her.

Then there’s a light in the night
That settles on my hand
Then I spy the Firefly
And watch her softly land.

She comes in shine and shadow
Then sends me off to sleep
Then wanders into my garden
To see what she might reap.

She washes past my listening
And pervades me with perfume
A rose and creamy daffodil
Seeps into my room.

I wait to share a little care
Then watch her fly away
And slide past a moonbeam
I wished that she would stay.

The dream it seems
Has stepped into the night
Then she rides the Milky Way
And disappears, from sight.

I chase the moon, around the room
Then settle down once more
Until the morn comes winking
With another dream in store.

I’m waiting for the moment
When dreams filtrate my soul
And I am in another world
Where pieces make me whole.

©

David Rudder
2024

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.