I Close my Eyes

And drift away

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
1 min readOct 13, 2022

--

Photo by Darius Bashar on Unsplash

I close my eyes and drift away.
Wrapped securely in my sleep cape
In the veils of night, I disappear.
On my ultimate escape.

My mind flies over garden walls
and floats between the trees.
Worldly thoughts are blowing away.
I become part of the breeze.

It's a place of metamorphosis.
I escape in my dreams.
Where everything is different
Or that's the way it seems.

I fly o'er places never seen.
I have not mentioned it on a map.
And dive across vast oceans.
In heaven's centre, nature's lap.

A whispering wind accompanies me.
We speak in dulcet tones.
And visit ancient kings and queens.
They were on star-studded thrones.

My escape is beyond all measures.
And cannot be quantified.
And stays with me in heavenly sleep
They are keeping me satisfied.

And when I wake from my escape.
There's a residue that remains.
Yet now they're faceless people.
In escape that has no names

©

David Rudder
2022

Thank you for reading my poetry.
If you wish to read more, join me.

Join Medium for only US $5 a month to access all stories and poems and a platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports.
https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.