I Missed

The chance

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
1 min readDec 17, 2022

--

Photo by Ben Collins on Unsplash

I thought and fought my innate sense.
And stuttered when I moved.
And worried about my actions.
It may be misconstrued.

I emptied my impulses.
Then I missed the chance.
I simpered and surrendered.
Where there may have been romance.

Learning about yearning
Where did I go wrong?
Searching for new places
I am trying to belong.

Senses strike like lightning.
My pulse beats like a drum.
Alchemy of energy
My mind is going numb.

Passion is the fashion
Please slow the motor down.
Please save me from the abyss.
I might drown.

On a hilltop far away
From noise and city lights
I bathe in the innate beauty.
Of nature’s pure delights.

The stars and night and satellites
Gleam through the darkening gloom
And clouds eclipse and confiscate
Glimpses of the moon.

I chance just one more dance.
And move into the night.
To soothe my senses
And changed my mind about the flight.

©

David Rudder
2022

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.
If you wish to read more, join me.

Join Medium for only US $5 a month to access all stories and poems and a platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports.
https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.