I Realise

My mistake

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
1 min readSep 4, 2022

--

Photo by krakenimages on Unsplash

As it dawns, I realise,
When listening to the song,
That I read between the lines,
And got it all wrong

I noticed you wrote a note.
But I thought it was a mistake.
Your birthday has come and gone.
Please give me a break.

I must learn to concentrate,
And quit making assumptions,
I’d better get the details right,
If we’re ever to meet for luncheons.

So today, I must say,
Happy birthday once again,
With your friends there to celebrate,
I hope you feel no pain.

I know sixty is momentous,
I’ve been there and done that,
And that age is the rage,
Once you get the knack.

So my beau, go with the flow,
And enjoy the celebrations,
Surrounded by the friends you love,
And their good vibrations.

So when you wake and cut the cake,
And open presents with surprise,
Here’s another one for you,
And smile from my eyes.

When the party’s over,
And the guests have gone,
It’s then time to realise,
Where you belong.

©

David Rudder
2017

Thanks for reading.

Join Medium for only US $5 a month to access all stories and poems and a platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports.
https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.