I Ride the Wave

Of life.

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
2 min readJan 25, 2024

--

Photo by LECHAT Valentin on Unsplash

I ride the wave, the wave of life
the weather’s destination,
is on the shore and there is more,
as I move on inclination.

I ponder previous principles,
things adhered to in the past,
seen through abstract visuals,
though very few will last.

I find my mind wandering,
to trips out to the West,
and I can’t help wondering,
if I’ll put thoughts to the test.

Driving down the mountain track,
I feel at home again,
the moment I am coming back,
I hear the old refrain.

The whistle of the mutant breeze,
and crunch beneath my feet,
signs of a recent winter freeze,
makes my life complete.

I write and despite the truth,
I’m old, though feel so young,
a place I wish to stay,
out in the sticks among.

The raptures of the night sky,
The Shining Milky Way,
beckoning me onwards,
swiftly till that day.

To a place where the race,
is over and I’ve won,
I hope I’ll hardly leave a trace,
when the race is run.

There are whys and then there are wherefores,
the where have I come from,
signals sent in semaphores,
I now, rely upon.

©

David Rudder
2024

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.
Join Medium for as little as US$5 a week and enjoy the experience of being paid for publishing your thoughts and reading an assortment of great poetry and stories.

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.