I Watch

And wonder

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
2 min readJan 12, 2023

--

Photograph by Author

I swim in seas way past my knees.
Then ride the peaks and troughs,
I feel I’m on my mettle,
It’s part of the trade-offs.

Of being where I am today,
My mood is like the sea,
And it holds me in its way,
That’s how it’s going to be.

One day up, the next I’m down,
Weary, then I’m bright,
And often when I go to town,
I’m surprised by the light.

Ups and downs come and go,
Winter turns to spring,
And it’s something that I know,
The warmth the sun will bring.

Sometimes I wait, and it’s too late,
Or arrive too soon,
I know that it’s my fate,
The mood, the means, and the tune.

Pieces of past history,
Melt and drip away,
Often, it’s a mystery,
Should I go or stay?

I watch and wonder at the thunder,
If storms will clear the sky,
The lightning here down under,
Dear lord, I often cry.

When the final curtain,
It is drawn, and I head home,
Nothing is more certain,
I’ll end up alone.

©

David Rudder
2022

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.
If you enjoyed this and wish to read more.

Join Medium for only US $5 a month or US $50 a year to access all my stories and poems and thousands of other poets and writers and use this platform to publish and earn from your pieces, poetry, photos, and reports.
https://davidrudder.medium.com/membership

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.