I Wish for a Place

Where love and truth abound.

David Rudder
Poetic Essences
1 min readJul 9, 2024

--

Photo by Anne Nygård on Unsplash

I wish for a place
Where love and truth abound
And metaphors hold meaning
And nature is the sound.

That an onomatopoeia
And rhetorical retort
Hardly ever did appear
And are very rarely taught.

A place of candidness
Where what is said
Without hysterics or madness
Or promises in bed.

It wouldn’t be so hard
To use veracity
And relatively easy to afford
Some authenticity.

There’d be no need for diplomacy
Or long and flowery speeches
Scorn replaced with probity
We’d be listening to creatures.

A bounteous existence
Saying what’s on the mind
Speech with clear consistency
Where words are refined.

I watched thoughts fly on by
In an azure, purple sky
No longer trying
For the apple of your eye.

Watching for the sweet talk
Seduction and the sin
Hovering like a hawk
And then, much to my chagrin.

He was lost forever
Big Brother in the Blue
Into the never-never
With no idea or clue.

What anyone was saying
I wish he’d stayed awhile
The edges are all fraying
Leaving sayings in a pile

©

David Rudder
2024

Thank you for reading this piece and my poetry.

--

--

David Rudder
Poetic Essences

Top writer in Poetry. I am a diarist and write poetry to reflect my thoughts.